Party Pies Without a Party!

I have just ordered a new pie maker from Betta Electrical and it hasnt turned up yet so Ive had all these ideas ripping around for pie insides and no pie maker to try them out on! I couldve always made oven pies but that defeats the point of having brought a pie maker I think! Anyhow, my mum in law, Jude, champion that she is, lent me her pie maker that makes 4 party pies in less then 5 minutes. I was in seventh heaven and off I went.
I decided to make some chicken and vege pies, cause theyre my faves and cause I had 2 chicken breasts left from last nights tea. My pie filling was basic and simple to make and could easily have been used in an oven baked pie too. Here it is!

CHICKEN & VEGIE PIES

1packet puff or shortcrust pastry. (I always use puff cause shortcrust seems too heavy to me unless its homemade & I had no butter to make my own)
2 skinless chicken breasts cut horizontally through the middle & then cubed into about 2cm cubes.
1carrot, peeled and diced finely
1onion peeled and finely diced
A handful each of frozen peas and corn kernels
2T creamy chicken soup mix
1T chicken gravox mix
1c water

Firstly, I made the filling by frying up all the diced chicken till lightly browned. You may need to do this in 2 batches so you dont stew it, like I had to cause my oven is piss weak!
When its all browned, add the vegies and then mix the gravox, soup mix and water together to make a thick liquid. Add that to pan and thicken slightly. Simmer for a couple of minutes and set aside to cool a bit.
Get the pie maker hot and using cutters provided – or in my case, a plastic wine glass and a plastic drinking cup cause Jude’s pie maker cost only $14 and didnt come with cutters. Obviously they dont add them in for that low price..(:O)
Cut circles for bases and lids out of pastry using wineglass & plastic cup.
Place bases in pie slots and press down gently. Fill bases with filling and then put your lids on. Press pie maker lid down for about 3/5 minutes depending on how crisp you like your pies and continue till the filling is all used up. Enjoy!

Note: If you dont have a pie maker, use muffin trays or mini pie dishes and press the lids to bases after filling. Bake for 10/15 minutes on 180 or till crispy.

20130130-142731.jpg

20130130-142843.jpg

2 thoughts on “Party Pies Without a Party!

Leave a Reply

